5 NHL Teams With the Most Stanley Cups

Sports5 NHL Teams With the Most Stanley Cups

The Stanley Cup is the pinnacle of professional hockey, renowned as the hardest trophy to win in sports. Each season, teams must endure a grueling journey to secure 16 victories and hoist the 132-year-old Silver Chalice, donated by Lord Stanley of Preston in 1892.

Originally contested by teams across Canada and the United States, the National Hockey League has been the exclusive domain for this coveted trophy since 1926.

Here’s a look at the teams with the most championship banners in their home arenas.

1. Montreal Canadiens (24)

The Montreal Canadiens are the most successful team in NHL history, boasting a league-record 24 Stanley Cup championships.

Their first title was claimed in the 1915-16 season, with subsequent victories spanning decades, establishing the Canadiens as a powerhouse in professional hockey.

A remarkable era for the franchise occurred between 1956 and 1960, during which they secured five consecutive championships, a record that still stands unmatched.

The apex of their success continued through the 1970s, adding six more titles, including four straight from 1976 to 1979. The last Stanley Cup victory for Montreal came in 1993, with Patrick Roy leading the charge and earning the Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the playoffs.

The Bell Centre, home to the Canadiens, stands as a monument to this storied franchise, where championship banners proudly hang as a testament to their enduring legacy.

2. Toronto Maple Leafs (13)

The Toronto Maple Leafs, steeped in tradition, have secured 13 Stanley Cup championships, making them the second most successful team in NHL history. The club’s first taste of glory came as the Toronto Arenas in the 1917-18 season, winning the first-ever NHL Stanley Cup title.

They continued their early success by clinching another title as the Toronto St. Patricks in 1922 before adopting the Maple Leafs moniker in 1927. By 1932, the team had secured its third championship, heralding an era of prosperity.

During the 1940s, the Maple Leafs dominated, capturing five Stanley Cups, including a historic three-peat from 1947 to 1949. The early 1960s witnessed another burst of success, with the team winning three consecutive titles from 1962 to 1964 and their last celebrated championship in 1967.

This victory marked the end of the Original Six era, which sadly signaled the beginning of the longest championship drought in NHL history. Despite this, the legacy of the Leafs’ storied past continues to inspire.

3. Detroit Red Wings (11)

The Detroit Red Wings, originally known as the Detroit Cougars when they joined the NHL in 1926, adopted their iconic name in 1933. They quickly became synonymous with success, claiming seven Stanley Cup titles from 1936 to 1955.

This period included back-to-back victories in 1936 and 1937 and again in 1954 and 1955. In between, they secured the championship in 1943, 1950, and 1952.

Key players of that era included Hall of Famers Marty Barry, Herbie Lewis, Ebbie Goodfellow, Gordie Howe, Alex Delvecchio, and Terry Sawchuk, who were instrumental in their victories.

After a downturn from 1967 to 1983, where the team only made the playoffs twice, the Red Wings experienced a resurgence. With smart drafting and bringing in talents like Steve Yzerman, Nicklas Lidström, Pavel Datsyuk, and Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit embarked on a remarkable stretch.

They made the playoffs every year from 1991 to 2016 and added four more Stanley Cups to their collection in 1997, 1998, 2002, and 2008. This period cemented their legacy as one of the NHL’s most storied franchises.

4. Chicago Blackhawks (6)

The Chicago Blackhawks have a rich and storied history in the NHL, highlighted by six Stanley Cup championships. Founded in 1926, the team quickly found success, winning the Cup in 1934 and 1938.

Despite these early triumphs, the Blackhawks went through a prolonged period of struggle, making the playoffs only three times from 1943 to 1958.

The tide turned in the 1960s when Hall of Famers Stan Mikita and Bobby Hull led the team to a championship in 1961, ending a 23-year drought. Between 1959 and 1997, the Blackhawks were consistently competitive, missing the playoffs just once and making it to the Final five times.

The modern era of Blackhawks dominance began in the late 2000s, spearheaded by stars Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane.

This dynamic duo helped the team capture three Stanley Cups in six years, with titles in 2010, 2013, and 2015, re-establishing Chicago as a powerhouse in professional hockey.

5. Boston Bruins (6)

The Boston Bruins, established in 1926, are among the NHL’s Original Six teams with a storied legacy. They have claimed six Stanley Cup championships: in 1929, 1939, 1941, 1970, 1972, and most recently in 2011.

The team has made 20 appearances in the Stanley Cup Final and missed the playoffs only 22 times in 100 seasons. A hallmark of their consistency, the Bruins qualified for the playoffs for 29 consecutive seasons from 1967 to 1996—a record that remains unbeaten.

The Bruins’ most iconic moments include Bobby Orr’s legendary 1970 Cup-winning goal, captured in one of hockey’s most famous photos, showing him flying through the air.

This period also saw them lifting the Cup again in 1972 and contending in numerous finals throughout the 70s and 80s. Despite a 39-year championship gap, the Bruins’ 2011 victory reaffirmed their enduring association with success and the Stanley Cup.

Final Thoughts

There are few accolades more coveted in the world of professional sports than a Stanley Cup championship. These five teams have cemented their legacies as some of the most successful franchises in NHL history, with a combined 60 Stanley Cups between them.

And as the 2024 Stanley Cup is just around the corner, fans eagerly await to see if any of these storied franchises will add another championship banner to their collection.

The Stanley Cup predictions are already starting to make headlines and generate heated debates among fans. But one thing is for sure: the teams that have claimed glory in the past will continue to inspire future generations of hockey players and fans alike.


Danielle is a former businesswoman who ventured into entrepreneurship to gain precious independence. Writing is one of her passions and allows her to keep up with the trends while sharing her interests and insights.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles