Woodcreek educator named Teacher of the Year

Kathryn Eisenhower selected from a field of nine nominees to be named Placer County's top educator
-A +A
Woodcreek High School teacher Kathryn Eisenhower has been selected as Placer County’s 2010 Teacher of the Year from a field of nine nominees. She teaches Advanced Placement Literature and Composition. “I am so pleased to have Kathryn Eisenhower represent Placer County to compete for statewide honors,” said Superintendent Gayle Garbolino-Mojica, in a press release. A reception to celebrate the nominated educators took place in Roseville Sept. 13. Eisenhower, who has taught in the Roseville Joint Union High School District since 2002, was praised by her superintendent, principal and colleagues for her ability to effectively engage students in learning through both her own enthusiasm and careful lesson planning. She currently serves as the English department co-chair at Woodcreek High School. “I want my students to understand that with hard work and commitment, they too can succeed in even the most difficult challenges,” Eisenhower said. ~ Sena Christian ---------- The following Roseville teachers were also recognized as Teachers of the Year for their respective districts: Natasha Najera, Olive Grove Elementary School, Dry Creek Joint Elementary School District Tanya Roberts, Catheryn Gates Elementary School, Roseville City School District Robyn Soliman, Oakmont High School, Roseville Joint Union High School District Ann Tavernetti-Weitzel, Blue Oaks Elementary School, Roseville City School District