Winters, Rickard, Owens, Hammond win in Roseville

Late Models return to Speedway next weekend
By: Jeannie Broussal, Special to The Press Tribune
-A +A

It was no surprise when Modified driver Scott Winters won the feature race Saturday at All American Speedway. This is his ninth win of the season.


Winters qualified number one with a 14.159 at 76.277 mph. With an invert of four, he started fourth.  Jason Philpot took the lead on lap one and Winters moved in to second on lap five. On lap 16,  Winters took over the number one spot, with Philpot sliding into second with Dan Jinkerson third.


At the checkered flag on lap 50, it was Winters, Philpot, Jinkerson, followed by Josh Brock and Ryan Peter.


In Bomber racing, Cody Rickard was the winner after starting 14th.  Jim McGinnis was the top qualifier with a 16.169 at 66.794 mph.  Matt Camp, who won last week's race, started from the pole.


On lap five, McGinnis took the lead, followed by Camp, Eric Bocksberger, Mark Anderson and David Thompson.  Bocksberger moved up to second on lap nine.  On lap 15, Rickard went into the number one spot after McGinnis broke and exited the track. 


Rickard took the checkered flag just 1.680 seconds ahead of Thompson. Bocksberger finished third, Anderson fourth and Gary Eisenhour was fifth.


Mickey Owens qualified first in Street Stocks with a 15.171 at 71.188 mph. Richard Poppert, Jr. started from the pole and led until lap 12, when Owens took over the lead spot, followed by Poppert, Matt Cockrum, Byron Tommerrson, and Chris Lambert.  On lap 35, they took the checkered flag in that order in a caution-free race.


In NCMA Sprint Car racing, Napa's David Goodwill qualified on the pole with a 13.848 at 77.990 mph. David Burchett led the field at the green while Bill Hendricks headed to the infield with car problems.  By lap 13, Rob Hammond and Goodwill were in a battle for first, but Goodwill could not get past Hammond. With five to go, Hammond pulled away and crossed the finish line first at the checkered flag.


The Late Models will return to the track July 24, along with Street Stocks, Modifieds, Bombers, and SRS racing.  



1. No. 24 Scott Winters

2. No. 15 Jason Philpot

3. No. 29 Dan Jinkerson

4. No. 21 Josh Brock

5. No. 2 Ryan Peter

6. No. 90 Trevor Cristiani

7. No. 7 Nik Romano

8. No. 17 Tyler Wentworth

9. No. 12 David Crouch

10. No. 72 Aaron Higgins

11. No. 11 Rick Anderson

12. No. 1 Rick Anable

13. No. 39 Luke Kaper

14. No. 43 Nick Lyons

15. No. 3 Nick Bonachea

16. No. 5 Jason Bamberg

17. No. 63 Leroy Hunt

18. No. 57 Wes Miller

19. No. 50 Gary Glenn

20. No. 02 Sal Lopez



1. No. 24 Cody Rickard

2. No. 37 David Thompson

3. No. 23 Eric Bocksberger

4. No. 92 Mark Anderson

5. No. 73 Gary Eisenhour

6. No. 15 Kenny Beaumont

7. No. 77 Erick Ray

8. No. 99 Phil Wilkins

9. No. 43 Bobby Bankston

10. No. 52 Matt Camp

11. No. 89 Walter Silver

12. No. 3 Jim McGinnis

13. No. 9 Harry Lambert



1. No. 08 Mickey Owens

2. No. 23 Richard Poppert, Jr.

3. No. 8 Matt Cockrum

4. No 80 Byron Tommerson

5. No. 50 Chris Lambert

6. No. 14 Wayne Crossland

7. No. 77 Ray Mood

8. No. 2 Mel Wilson

9. No. 07 Travis Henry

10. No. 86 Dave Silva

11. No. 22 Mark Blanton

12. No. 16 Gary Campora

13. No. 33 Michael Gorham

14. No. 48 Earl Lee

15. No. 15 John Ulery



1. No. 17 Rob Hammond

2. No. 3 David Goodwill

3. No. 77 David Burchett

4. No. 6 Ed Amador

5. No. 96 Bill Hendricks