West Capital Speedway Hall of Fame inducts seven people and a car

By: Jeannie Broussal Jeannie Broussal
-A +A
Seven people and a car were inducted into the West Capital Speedway Alumni Association Hall of Fame during a ceremony Saturday night at All American Speedway in Roseville. “One of the things about the WCRAA event is that not only are the people voted into the Hall of Fame stars, but there are cars that are stars as well,” said veteran journalist Bill Sessa, who served as master of ceremonies. Voted into the Hall of Fame this year was the No. 94 Super Modified car built by the Tiner Brothers. Fast and beautiful, it set a new standard for the class. Other inductees were: * The late Sherman Cleveland, who started his career in drag racing and later drove hardtops, midgets and sprint cars and was West Capital’s Rookie of the Year in 1962. Cleveland passed away following an accident at the Calistoga Fairgrounds in July 1966. * Cliff Compton owned Chet and Cliff’s VW Repair in Sacramento. After retiring from driving, he built cars for drivers like Jerry Graham, Roger Enos, Chuck Smith, Johnny Tiner and Joe Randone. * Frank DeFuentes was tutored for his first laps by Jimmy Sills Sr. DeFuentes, known as “Mister Magoo,” raced at many tracks, broke track records and won numerous heats and main events. * Frank Henderson started racing in West Capital’s Hobby division in 1965. He was West Capital’s Most Improved Driver in 1970, when he finished fifth in the Super Modified division. He came close to winning a track championship at All American. * Bill King began his racing career on a motorcycle at 12 years old. The first racecar he drove was owned by Wade Oldham, his mentor. King also raced hardtops, super modifieds and sprint cars and was a consistent winner. He won a championship at All American in 1970. * Pat Ross Scalabrini was asked to be a trophy girl one night. After that, she was asked to be the Trophy Queen coordinator, which she did for 12 years at West Capital and All American. On the track, feature races were held in the Legends and NCMA Sprint Car classes along with Hardtop, Roadster, Midget, Super Modified and Sprint Car exhibitions. Jeremy Wood won the Legends race after battling with Donny Darter and Stanislov Osterlund. Darter took the lead on lap seven. Osterlund shot ahead on lap 16 but relinquished it to Darter on lap 17. Wood took second from Osterlund on lap 21 and passed Darter for first on lap 26. Luis Tyrrell passed Darter on lap 31 and finished second to Wood. Darter was third and Osterlund fourth. David Goodwill had the NCMA Sprint championship clinched going in, and he went on to win the feature. Goodwill started seventh and picked off cars one by one to get to the front by lap seven. He was followed across the finish line by Ed Amador and David Burchett.