Thunder working to overcome Woodcreek in SFL

Woodcreek in SFL Sub: Slippery Slippery NU course makes running difficult
By: Lloyd Jones Courtesy/Placer Herald
-A +A
GRASS VALLEY _ In the second Sierra Foothill League cross-country meet of the season, Rocklin chased Woodcreek through the slippery mud, but couldn’t overtake the Timberwolves. Still, it was another league runner-up for the Thunder as Ryan Jones led his club by taking 10th place. He was followed closely by Ravi Sharma (11th), Alex Macchietto (15th), Ryan McCormick (16th), and Connor Hensley (23rd). Woodcreek also captured the girl’s top spot. The Thunder didn’t do well in the difficult conditions and came in fifth. Mikaela Yerkes and Heidi Greenwood ran strong finishing 13th and 15th, respectively. Erin Greenwood, Lindsey Romeri, and Lauren Fessenden ran well as a team placing 22nd, 23rd, and 29th, respectively. Rocklin will now travel to Folsom for the Bronco Invite, Oct. 15. They will then compete in the Clover Valley Time Trials (Oct. 22) before the SFL finals at William Jessup University, Oct. 28. Del Oro Invite _ The Rocklin varsity boys again demonstrated their love for running at night by pulling out another victory, Oct. 1. Covering the 4,000-meter course under the lights, the Thunder top five had only nine other runners separating them. Macchietto took fourth, Jones seventh, Sharma 10th, McCormick 11th, and Ty Medd 15th. Jesuit was second at the Invite, Pleasant Grove third. Rocklin’s girls ran a strong second to host Del Oro. Yerkes came in ninth, Heidi Greenwood 10th, Erin Greenwood 11th, Lindsey Romeri 16th, and Mckayla Burrows 23rd. The junior varsity boys made a brilliant showing by placing five runners in the top six spots. Leading the pack were Donavan Feliz, Bret Fessenden, and Jacob Denkordi, who crossed the finish line one, two, three. Jonathon Cluff took fifth, and Harrison Hucks grabbed the sixth spot. The JV girls didn’t field a team, but the frosh/soph team did place third. Madelyn Lent was sixth, Juliette Sherrill seventh, and Amanda Ehrhardt eighth.