SFL coaches select league's elite softball players

Four T-wolves on first team
By: Kurt Johnson, The Press Tribune
-A +A
The coaches of the Sierra Foothill League were faced with a difficult task when it came time to select the all-league softball team for the 2009 season. With a plethora of outstanding infielders and a number of strong pitchers, it is no surprise this the squad, as voted on by the league’s coaches, is littered with players at those positions. Woodcreek’s playoff fortunes took a decided turn for the better when second baseman Courtney Breault returned from injury as one of the SFL’s most dominant hitters. Her presence in the heart of the Timberwolves’ batting order provided the needed power to lift the team, and her senior leadership and solid defensive play energized an otherwise very young team. First baseman Kelly Rose was the other senior presence in the Woodcreek lineup. A versatile left-handed hitter and a solid defender, Rose was an ever-present source of stability for Art Banks’ crew. The calming influence for Woodcreek came from catcher Rebecca Rodriguez, who proved her worth handling a pitching staff that changed mid-year with the departure of a senior, and her replacement with a young sophomore fresh from the junior varsity. Rodriguez was also a constant threat at the top of the batting order. Clean-up hitter Abby Bates was a consistent performer in the Timberwolf outfield and provided a powerful bat in the middle of the lineup. Roseville’s impressive season fell just short of a postseason berth, but a season that was hampered by some injuries was blessed with the most consistent of performances in the circle. Senior Kiana Levy was one of the league’s top players, and was the constant for the Lady Tigers all year long. Alicea Coy provided a spark as the Roseville leadoff hitter, but also proved valuable when an injury to freshman sensation Lollie Fitzpatrick forced her to change from shortstop to the critical second base position. At a position filled with stars in the SFL, Coy stood out as one of the league’s finest at that spot. A pair of Oakmont seniors also received first-team recognition by the league’s coaches. Both pitcher Jessica Rosnack and second baseman Leslie Coffee closed out stellar four-year varsity runs with the Vikings. Rosnack kept Oakmont in every game, and Coffee provided a strong glove and a big bat. It was a tough year on the diamond for Granite Bay, but the main bright spot came from shortstop Madison Smith, an outstanding player who battled all the way through a difficult year. All-Sierra Foothill League softball team MVP: Savannah Pingree, Del Oro First team: Kiana Levy, Roseville Alicea Coy, Roseville Courtney Breault, Woodcreek Kelly Rose, Woodcreek Rebecca Rodriguez, Woodcreek Abby Bates, Woodcreek Jessica Rosnack, Oakmont Leslie Coffee, Oakmont Madison Smith, Granite Bay Whitney Smith, Del Oro Hannah George, Del Oro Annette Merjano, Del Oro Ciera Clark, Del Oro Cara Delgado, Rocklin Sierra Ueltzen, Rocklin Rebecca Eatough, Rocklin Stacy McTaggart, Rocklin Kendal Butterfield, Nevada Union Brianna Nicholson, Nevada Union Honorable mention: Alexi Johnson, Roseville Caitlin Renn, Roseville Marisa Andrade, Oakmont Lauren Clark-Lewis, Woodcreek Casey Remey, Granite Bay Katie Swenson, Rocklin Summer Powell, Rocklin Aspen Echlemeier, Del Oro Kayla Ward, Del Oro Kelsey Mooney, Del Oro Jordan Courage, Del Oro