Scribner storms back to win Late Model race at speedway

Jinkerson, Poppert, Paulson score repeat victories
By: Staff report
-A +A

Most of the checkered flags have belonged to Matt Scott and Jason Romero this season in the Late Model division at All American Speedway.

They looked like they would battle for another one when they took away Chris Scribner’s lead midway through Saturday night’s 75-lap main event, but Scribner fought back and claimed a victory in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program played out before a Fans Night crowd.

Scribner started on the pole and set the pace for 45 laps until Scott, who started seventh, passed him. Romero, who started ninth, passed Scribner for second on lap 55, but Scribner moved ahead on lap 57, led the final 19 circuits around the one-third-mile track and beat Scott to the finish line by .545 of a second. Romero was third.

Romero led qualifying at 13.797 seconds. Scott was second at 13.831. Scribner qualified ninth out of 12 cars at 14.058. Eric Schmidt of Roseville won the dash.

For the second week in a row, Mickey Owens threatened to spoil Richart Poppert Jr.’s night. For the second week in a row, Poppert prevented that from happening.

Poppert led the Street Stock main event from laps 15-28, but Owens took the lead on lap 29 in the 35-lap event. Poppert regained the lead on the next lap and led the final six laps to beat Owens in the 15-car race. Mel Wilson led laps 2-14.

Poppert was the No. 1 qualifier at 15.035 seconds. Byron Gonzales beat Chris Lambert in the dash by .091 of a second.

Dan Jinkerson scored his second Modified victory in a row by beating Cody Thompson by 1.492 seconds in the 40-lap main. Jinkerson started seventh in the 14-car field and moved into fourth place by the second lap. Andy Field led 15 laps before Jinkerson passed him.

Jinkerson also won the dash. Steve Cote set fast time in qualifying at 14.201.

Chris Paulson of Antelope, having already clinched his second consecutive Bomber points championship, recorded his eighth main-event victory in 13 starts.
He took the lead from Chuck Leek/Joe Rhodes on lap seven and won the 29-lap feature by 1.022 seconds.

Cody Rickard topped qualifying at 15.853, and Erick Ray won the dash.


Next race: Saturday. Gates open at 4 p.m. Racing at 6.
Divisions: Airport Auto Brokers Late Model Series, WSRA, NCMA, Legends of the Pacific.
Tickets: $13 for adults ages 16-59, $7 for Seniors 60 and up and juniors 6-15, free for kids 5 and under, $35 for a family pass (two adults, three juniors). Parking is $5 per vehicle.
Address: Placer County Fairgrounds, 800 All America City Blvd., Roseville.
Information: (916) 786-2025,