School Bulletin: Oakmont senior wins Rotary speech contest

Cyber-safety workshops for parents
By: Sena Christian, Staff Reporter
-A +A

Oakmont senior wins Rotary speech contest

Six Roseville area high school students participated in the Rotary Club of Roseville’s 2013 high school speech contest. Each student spoke for five to eight minutes on the topic of “Peace Through Service.” Oakmont High School senior Esther Klimkiy won first place, Woodcreek High School senior Kelly Nabaglo won second place and Roseville High School freshman Jackie Solorio won third place.

The three runner-ups were Kelsie Rogers, Jada Devlin and Josephine Kao. Klimkiy now advances to the regional competition. This year’s speech topic relates to the Rotary International motto “Service Above Self,” and the work Rotary does through Peace Fellowships and the Rotary Centers for International Studies.

Hawthorne to locate in Rocklin

The founders of the soon-to-be-opened Hawthorne Academy of Arts and Sciences have decided to locate the private school in Rocklin, instead of the originally planned location in Roseville. The academy will operate at 2213 Sunset Blvd. (formerly the location of the Phoenix School), and is now enrolling students for the fall semester. For more information, visit

Cyber-safety workshops for parents

Roseville Police Department high-tech crime Detective Brent Northrup will host two presentations for parents, teachers and guardians on cyber-safety for teens. He will discuss social networking, cyber-bullying and other Internet safety issues. The first presentation is at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 3, at Buljan Middle School, 100 Hallissy Drive in Roseville, and the second is at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 9, at Antelope High School, 7801 Titan Drive in Antelope.

GBHS students win ACE Award

A team of Granite Bay High School students won the award for best overall architectural design in the annual Architecture, Construction and Engineering (ACE) competition on March 15. They were mentored by professionals in these industries. The ACE program was established in 2007 to expose high school students to the world of architecture, construction, engineering and building trades.

The Granite Bay team, who competed against 11 schools, selected and planned the construction of an outdoor amphitheater at the capitol mall in Sacramento. The team, led by teacher Steve Dolan, included Kenneth Bell, Lorenzo Burgos, Zachary Chambers, Alexandra Doza, Kaylee Efstathiu, Robert Ellis, Keith Henderson, Kristi Hlawaty, Kinzie Oas, Deven Patel, Lorenzo Rodriguez, Carl Spadorcio, Jeff Williams and Alex Zahn.

Local administrators earn awards

Several local administrators were honored at the Region 2 Association of California School Administrators meeting on March 15, including Cavitt Junior High School Assistant Principal Lisa VandeSteeg as Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year in the Eureka Union School District. Retired Eureka Union Superintendent Ronald L. Feist was recognized as Retired Administrator of the Year and recipient of the Robert E. Kelly Award. The Eureka Schools Foundation earned the Partners in Educational Excellence Award. Ron Warfield, the director of facilities, maintenance, operations and transportation in the Dry Creek Joint Elementary School District, was honored as Classified Leader of the Year. These honorees now qualify for recognition at the state level.

Have news for the school bulletin? Email your campus news and events to reporter Sena Christian at