Roseville VFW honors police, fire, students

-A +A

Roseville Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1487 held its Voice of Democracy and Patriot’s Pen awards dinner and program at the Veterans Memorial Hall on Feb. 14.

The VFW 1487 Ladies Auxiliary prepared the dinner, with about 70 people in attendance, including Roseville Police Chief Daniel Hahn. Assemblywoman Beth Gaines’ representative Jeff Short attended and presented certificates on behalf of Gaines.

Roseville Police Officer Jed O’Rourke was recognized as VFW 1487 Police Officer of the Year. Fire Captain Matt Lauchner was recognized as VFW 1487 Fireman of the Year; he also won the District 17 firefighter competition. Justyne Shope was recognized as the post Voice of Democracy winner and Teagan Stark as the Patriot’s Pen winner. All winners received a certificate of merit and a check. Other local Voice of Democracy winners were Ruth Martin, Tirzah Pherigo, Emily Potts and Matt Almas.

The VFW Voice of Democracy scholarship competition is a patriotic essay/audio program open to students grades nine through 12. Local winners have an opportunity to go onto compete for a national prize of a $25,000 scholarship and an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. The Patriot Pen scholarship competition is open to students in the sixth, seventh and eighth grades. Local winners have an opportunity to go on to compete for a national prize of a $5,000 scholarship and a paid trip to Washington, D.C. All students are encouraged to enter next year’s competition, said Commander Dave Ramsey.

The Roseville VFW meets at 6 p.m. the second Tuesday of each month for pizza and a brief meeting at 7 p.m. at the Roseville Veterans Memorial Hall, 110 Park Drive. All eligible veterans are encouraged to join for patriotism, fun and friendship. For more information, visit, call (916) 783-7267 or email