Roseville area qualifies 39 wrestlers for Division II section meet

By: Bill Poindexter/Roseville Press Tribune Sports Editor
-A +A

Roseville high schools will send 39 wrestlers, including eight league champions, to the Sac-Joaquin Section Division II meet Friday at Del Oro.

Granite Bay wrestlers won four divisions at the Sierra Foothill League tournament Friday at Roseville and qualified 12 for the Division II meet. Weight-class champions were Sean Brown at 120 pounds, Ian Mook at 138, Connor Guzman at 182 and freshman Cameron Smith at 195.

“We are ecstatic. We’re as happy as can be,” Grizzlies coach Robert Cooley said Tuesday.

Roseville qualified 10 wrestlers, led by senior 220-pound champ Ryan Fratto. Austin Ash (160) and Austin Finerty (170) placed second.

Woodcreek sophomore James Gomez repeated as champion at 106 pounds. Freshman Cameron Young, who wrestled at 120 all season, dropped in weight to 113 and was the runner-up. His day included a decision over rugged Sawyer Mosel of Nevada Union. Senior Austin Mason was second at 138, and freshman 285-pounder Dominic Balmer finished fourth after missing two weeks because of an illness.

“Every week he gets to go on, he’ll get stronger,” Timberwolves coach Doug Mason said.

Oakmont qualified 11 for the Division II meet, including Capital Valley Conference champs Jake Elliott at 152 and Peter Santos at 170.

“For us, that’s a good showing to have that many kids left at this point,” Vikings coach Dave Wells said. “Last year, we had six.”

Elliott, the 2011 state champ at 145 pounds, and Santos each won by pin in the finals. Elliott is 21-1 this season, and Santos is 22-2.

Oakmont’s Kaleio Romero lost to Bella Vista’s Shayne Tucker, ranked No. 1 in the state, in the 138-pound final. Yianni Athens (126) and Zach Sidhu (220) also placed second for the Vikings.

“It made for a good finals,” Wells said. “It was nice to have five guys once it got to one mat.”

Sierra Foothill League tournament

Top five by weight class

106 pounds: 1. James Gomez (Woodcreek), 2. Isaac Blackburn (Del Oro), 3. Logan Runner (Roseville), 4. Michael Cole (Rocklin), 5. Dane Mortensen (Granite Bay).

113 pounds: 1. Zach Ruybal (DO), 2. Cameron Young (W), 3. Sawyer Mosel (Nevada Union), 4. Robert Ferry (Rose), 5. Thomas Nguyen (GB).

120 pounds: 1. Sean Brown (GB), 2. Will Sumner (NU), 3. Brandon Fratto (Rose), 4. Ian Gassaway (DO), 5. Clayton Lopes (W).

126 pounds: 1. Johnny Callas (NU), 2. Shane Saylor (GB), 3. Jonathan Maroon (Rose), 4. Tanner Robison (DO), 5. Jacob Smethurst (W).

132 pounds: 1. Julian Purdy (NU), 2. Johnny Zieour (DO), 3. Daniel Flinders (GB), 4. Dylan Runner (Rose), 5. Ian Mackall (Rock).

138 pounds: 1. Ian Mook (GB), 2. Austin Mason (W), 3. Brenden Montoya (DO), 4. Austin Dirks (Rose).

145 pounds: 1. Shane Keefe (Rock), 2. Patrick Neu (DO), 3. Matt Berry (GB), 4. Matthew Conley (Rose), 5. Michael Contini (W).

152 pounds: 1. Austin Branum (DO), 2. Adam Wagner (GB), 3. Andrew Tyson (Rock), 4. Chad Grenon (NU), 5. Anthony Keefe (Rose).

160 pounds: 1. Skyler Gonzales (Rock), 2. Austin Ash (Rose), 3. David Kovalchuk (GB), 4. Clayton Hillenbrand (DO), 5. Andrew Zumaran (W).

170 pounds: 1. Dylan Kainrath (DO), 2. Austin Finerty (Rose), 3. Kaige Miller (Rock), 4. Spencer Ferguson (GB), 5. Brandon Poni (W).

182 pounds: 1. Connor Guzman (GB), 2. Kevin Love (DO), 3. Darrien Gardner (Rock), 4. Ryan Smith (W).

195 pounds: 1. Cameron Smith (GB), 2. Russell Pierce (DO), 3. Nate Story (NU), 4. Carl Gross (W), 5. Kyle Grant (Rock).

220 pounds: 1. Ryan Fratto (Rose), 2. Kevin Blank (GB), 3. Tanner Woods (DO), 4. Tyler Hart (NU), 5. Jordan Schnakenberg (W).

285 pounds: 1. Sam Woods (Rock), 2. Saul Meneses (DO), 3. Austin Smith (GB), 4. Dominic Balmer (W).

Capital Valley Conference tournament

Oakmont results

106 pounds: Tommy Krebs, third. 113: Daniel Kozachuk, third. 120: Michael Allard, third. 126: Yianni Athens, second. 132: Richie Allard, fourth. 138: Kaleio Romero, second. 145: Colin Harrigan, fourth. 152: Jake Elliott, first. 170: Peter Santos, first. 182: Kaden Davis, fourth. 220: Zach Sidhu, second.