Nine soccer tourney finals in a row for Eureka Wildcats U11

By: Staff reports
-A +A

The Eureka Wildcats, an under-11 girls select soccer team, reached their ninth consecutive tournament final at the Sac United Boofest last weekend in Sacramento.
The Wildcats shut out Placer United, Sac United and Santa Rosa United and lost to El Dorado United Eclipse ’00 Luna 3-2 on penalty kicks following a 0-0 regulation tie.
The Wildcats have won 42 games this season. They are undefeated in NorCal Division I play, where they’ll compete in the State Cup through December, and have lost just once in the Gold Regional division of the new CYSA.
Team members are Katie Hunter, Sydney Schreiner, Hannah Bonfils, Scout Sanders, Makayla Clement, Nicole Daley, Summer McDaniel, Jazzlyn Venkataya, Jasmyne Dunn, Savannah Yenne and Alyssa Tremblay.
Two other Eureka teams also have won tournaments recently – the U16 girls Perfect Gift and U9 boys Panthers.

U14 girls
Roseville Starfire 3, Eureka Eagles 1
– Kayla Kwong started several breaks for the Starfire and helped shut down the Eagles’ offense. Alex Evans and Mackenzie Kirkpatrick scored on penalty kicks, and Kirkpatrick created several scoring opportunities with crosses to the net. Abby Nye also scored for the Starfire.

U10 girls
Keiki Kickers 1, Groovy Girls 0
– Emily Martin scored on a breakaway, and Izzy Ronald’s passing created shots for teammates Gracie Harada and Madison Pearson.

U8 boys
Cougars 2, Ninjas 0
– Sebastian Walker scored both goals for the Cougars. Van Anater created opportunities with aggressive play, and Ricky Mejia put several shots on goal.
Roseville Rockets 7, Roseville Attack 0 – Ryan Graydon and Gino Garcia scored two goals apiece to lead the Rockets. Riley Toman, Ian Peterson and Kyle Epstein also scored.

U8 girls
EYSC Mighty Lions 7, Eureka Pink Panthers 1
– Jordan Gotham scored four goals to help the Mighty Lions run their winning streak to six. Scoring one goal each were Audrey Talmi, Paloma Garcia and Hailey Seva.

U6 coed
Earthquakes 6, Starbursts 1
– Camden Ferro and Hallie Knudtson scored two goals apiece to lead the Earthquakes. Andrew Curtan and Ash Erskine scored once each, and Brayden Loomis anchored the defense.