Match play is back; the 11th annual Rose Cup

By: Jeffrey Weidel, Special to The Press Tribune
-A +A
Although area courses were greeted with torrential rain storms on consecutive days this week, chances are there were still at least 48 Roseville golfers who were out hitting range balls and perhaps getting in a few slushy rounds to keep their game sharp. A crystal trophy currently resides in the Woodcreek Golf Club pro shop, which means three other area courses are hoping that location is altered by early Saturday evening. The coveted trophy goes to the annual winner of the Rose Cup, a four-team Ryder Cup-like competition that takes place this week for the 11th time. Woodcreek has kept the handsome trophy in its pro shop over the past year after winning last October and pulling even with Diamond Oaks with four victories. Sierra View has won it twice, while Timber Creek is seeking to harbor the trophy for a first time. Timber Creek feels it has a slight advantage this year, hosting Saturday’s match play when two-thirds of the points are decided. Friday’s two-man play is at Woodcreek. Both days begin with shotgun starts at 12:30 p.m. “I think this is the year for our team,” Timber Creek pro Mark Gouger said. “Two years ago we were leading after the first day held at our course but ended up in third. I think this year if we can get off to a decent start at Woodcreek we can bring it home on Saturday playing at our course.” Playing in his fifth Rose Cup for Sierra View, Gerry Lavasseur says the tournament is the “greatest golf event in this area.” “Our players still look forward to it every year,” said Sierra View pro Jim Salazar, who will have assistants Walt Thompson and Nick White play in his place this year. Scott Prenez of Diamond Oaks and Gouger have both enjoyed some nice on-course battles the last few years among the area pros. They will be joined this week by Curtis Wood, who steps in for Woodcreek’s Rob Frederick, the only pro to have played in all previous 10 tournaments. Jeffrey Weidel is the former Sports Editor of the Press-Tribune. He can be reached at Diamond Oaks Scott Prenez – Pro Bob Pando Harry Wharrf Robert Guild Larry Webber Don Pangburn Steve Hendrickson Ron Turner Albert Delisle Robert Kvick Ron Floyd Russ Tabbert Timber Creek Mark Gouger – Pro Dave Glass Tim Howard Ed Lick Bill Wihl Martin Wolf Howard Cabezas Chuck Krause John Raniseski Bill Mathews Leon Dean Herb Tom Woodcreek Curtis Wood – Pro Jay Lignell Brian Arthur Keith Erickson Bill Gaylor Stan Norine Jim Butler Mike Craik John Lacey Doug Blake Rich Wasina Rich Kassis Sierra View Nick White/Walt Thompson – Pros Gary White Bill Hooper John Bierer Scott Steindorf David Dlagisch Chris Clark Jerry Lavasseur David Steinhart Gary Becton Fred Besana Sr. Vern Mitzell