Low scores, high temps as SFL golfers gather

Rocklin's Curtis Wise shoots 70 to win league tourney No. 1
By: Kurt Johnson, senior sports editor
-A +A
The weather was hot and the scores were low as the Sierra Foothill League golfers gathered for the first league-wide tournament of the boys golf season at Roseville’s Sierra View Country Club Monday. Rocklin’s Curtis Wise shot a two-under-par 70 to win medalist honors in the individual competition, and he needed to go that low to hold off the competition, as Granite Bay’s Nick Adams posted a 71 and Roseville’s Wally Hix carded a 72. The Grizzlies won the team competition with an amazing low score of 376. All of Granite Bay’s top five scores used to calculate the team event were below 80. Mitch Armstrong posted a 74 and Alex Gibbs shot a 75 on the Par 72 course. “There were some very low scores from our league both individually and team scores,” said Roseville coach Corey Fukuman. “Five out of seven teams broke 400, which I think is very good.” Rocklin also had five golfers below 80, and recorded a team score (378) just two shots behind the Grizzlies. All six of Del Oro’s players came in at 80 or better, with three golfers posting 80 for the third-place Golden Eagles, who shot a collective 391. The race for fourth place went to Nevada Union with a 396, just two strokes below Roseville’s 398. The Tigers were led by Hix, but also got a 76 from Nick Anderson and a 78 from Kevin Ponath. Woodcreek and Oakmont had team scores well behind the leaders, but both schools saw individual players turn in scores near the top of the leaderboard. Chris Wilson of Woodcreek carded a 73, while Oakmont’s Kris Thomas (74) and Mike Croisetiere (75) turned in strong rounds. Final team results: Granite Bay – 376 Rocklin – 378 Del Oro – 391 Nevada Union – 396 Roseville – 398 Woodcreek – 418 Oakmont – 418 Top 10 individuals: Curtis Wise, Rocklin – 70 Nick Adams, Granite Bay – 71 Wally Hix, Roseville – 72 Spencer Biersdorff, Nevada Union – 73 Chris Wilson, Woodcreek – 73 Mitch Armstrong, Granite Bay – 74 Kris Thomas, Oakmont – 74 Mike Croisetiere, Oakmont – 75 Austin Smotherman, Del Oro - 75 Alex Gibbs, Granite Bay – 75 Sky Mills, Rocklin - 75