Lincoln varsity cross-country runners all boost personal best times

Pacific Tiger Invitational
By: Staff report
-A +A
STOCKTON _ It was a fast track at the Pacific Tiger Invitational High School Cross Country Meet last week, but the Lincoln High coach was still pleased that every one of his varsity runners improved on their personal best times. Fighting Zebras’ coach Doug Croall said the 5,000-meter varsity course was relatively flat, but he didn’t expect all of his runners to beat their previous best times. Getting the brightest gold star was Matthew Binning for the varsity boys. Although Binning was the last of the Lincoln runners to cross the finish line, he cut a full 66 seconds off his personal best time. Dylan Toerpe led the Zebras in a time of 18:23 for 67th place among 145 runners. Toerpe took 48 seconds off his previous best. Jacob Edwards followed in 18:50 (37 sec.), Bryant Garcia 19:24 (44 sec.) and Uriah Smith 19:31 (54 sec.). Lincoln’s Abi Lund broke the plane in 25th place with a time of 21:04. She led the girls subtracting 44 seconds from her previous best. Katy Mercier crossed the line at 22:00 (32 sec.), Kelsi Snook 24:11 (32 sec.) and Savannah Berkley 24:38 (34 sec.). There were 104 runners in the varsity girl’s competition. Frosh/Soph Although personal best time weren’t listed, the Zebras’ freshmen and sophomores also turned in some fast times. For the girls, Haley Higgins covered the 2-mile run in 13:20. She also came in 25th with 163 girls running. Annika Lehenbauer timed in at 14:42 Kelsy Prentice and Kelsy Prentice at 15:23. Evan Deatherage led the boys with a time of 11:46. He was 46th among 213 runners. Daniel Hagge followed in 12:26, Jackson Aaron 13:00, Barker William 14:47 and Brian Ackerson 15:25. Pacific Tiger Invitational High School Cross Country Meet Results – Lincoln Varsity Girls Runner Time Previous Best Abi Lund 21:04 21:48 Kay Mercier 22:00 22:32 Kelsi Snook 24:11 24:43 Savannah Berkley 24:38 25:12 Results – Lincoln Varsity Boys Runner Time Previous Best Dylan Toerpe 18:23 19:11 Jacob Edwards 18:50 19:27 Bryant Garcia 19:27 20:08 Uriah Smith 19:31 21:25 Matthew Binning 23:14 24:20