Eureka Schools Foundation earns ‘excellence award’

Two principals also honored by school administrators association
By: Sena Christian, Staff Reporter
-A +A

For information on how to donate to the Eureka Schools Foundation, visit

The Eureka Schools Foundation received the Partners in Educational Excellence Award from the Placer County chapter of the Association of California School Administrators on Feb. 25 for its efforts to support students in the Eureka Union School District for more than 20 years.

The award comes in the midst of the nonprofit organization’s largest annual fundraiser, the Annual Giving Campaign, which generated more than $300,000 last year for the district. In 2012, the foundation provided a total of $635,000.

These funds go toward libraries, computer technology, music, choir, junior high athletics and foreign language programs. The state does not allocate tax dollars to these enrichment programs.

On March 1, the foundation hosted its annual Art Auction and Music Exhibition, a free event showcasing student art, music and choirs.

The Partners in Educational Excellence Award is given to exemplary school-community partnership programs that promote effective educational performance, enhanced student achievement and strong community involvement in educational quality, according to a press release.

“Our success is a tribute to our community and its support of public education, with many parents, local businesses and members of our district community who have donated generously to our foundation, as well as the hundreds of volunteers who donate their time at our fundraising events each year,” said ESF President Tory Griffin, in the release.

The district, which serves Granite Bay and parts of east Roseville, ranks first in Placer County for its district-wide Academic Performance Index score of 918.

“With the myriad of complex budget challenges facing our district, the ESF board and its community volunteers have continually gone above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that students continue to receive a state of the art, second to none education,” said Superintendent Linda Rooney.

The local chapter of school administrators also honored Ridgeview Elementary School Principal Patrice McCallum and Cavitt Junior High School Assistant Principal Lisa VandeSteeg as administrators of the year.