Coach Stafford, Warrior volleyball players honored

By: Staff Report
-A +A
William Jessup University placed two players on the All-California Pacific Conference volleyball first team and head coach Terry Stafford was named coach of the year. Menlo College senior middle blocker Deborah Bekowies captured the player of the year award in the closest vote in recent memory. Bekowies along with teammates Stephanie Williamson and Sarah Poole made the first team. William Jessup's Jennifer McNamara and Corissa Jacomini, Holy Names' Ashley Nickell and Pacific Union's Tiffany Jacobson joined them with first team honors. Bekowies, Williamson and Nickell were all unanimous choices. For the second consecutive year, libero of the year went to Jacomini. The newcomer of the year is Holy Names' Rebecca Chase and the freshman of the year is Pacific Union's Tiffany Jacobson. Other William Jessup players honored were junior Geanna Foster, a Roseville native (second team), senior Kelsey Buchanan and junior Rachelle Russell (honorable mention).