Battling the elements, SFL golfers reach divisional tourney

By: Kurt Johnson, senior sports editor
-A +A
With the win wreaking havoc all over the golf course and scores soaring as a result, the Granite Bay High boys golf team used a balanced scoring approach to claim Sierra Foothill League Match No. 2 at Lincoln’s Catta Verdera Country Club. “It was a very windy day and conditions were difficult,” said Roseville High coach Corey Fukuman. “Scores were much higher than last week at Sierra View.” Nick Anderson of Roseville and Rocklin’s Nick Schafer tied for individual medalist honors, as both golfers shot four-over-par 76. On the team side, Granite Bay had no athlete go below 79, but all six Grizzlies were at 84 or better, with an 83 being their lowest score among the five that count for the team result. Granite Bay’s 405 was three strokes better than the 408 posted by Nevada Union. Max Kincheloe carded the lowest Granite Bay score with a 79, while Alex Gibbs (80), Nick Adams (81), Bryan Bertilino (82) and Donny Knoll (83) also contributed to the team victory. Rocklin was third at 418, led by Schafer’s 76, while Del Oro and Roseville tied for fourth at 436. With this win, the Grizzlies captured the league title, and will send all six golfers to the Sac-Joaquin Section Division II finals next Monday at Cameron Park Country Club. The top three teams in the final league standings and the top six individuals from the other four teams all qualified for that event. Granite Bay will be joined by the full teams from Rocklin and Del Oro at the next level. Woodcreek’s Chris Wilson, Oakmont’s Mike Croisetierre and three Roseville golfers (Anderson, Kevin Ponath and Wally Hix) will also be at the divisional event. The top teams and golfers from three Division II leagues after divisional play will move on to the section Master’s tournament, which is set for May 11 at The Reserve in Stockton. Top 10 finishers at league tourney No. 2 (18 holes, par 72) 1) Nick Schafer, Rocklin – 76 Nick Anderson, Roseville – 76 3) Max Kincheloe, Granite Bay – 79 Mike Croisetiere, Oakmont – 79 Spencer Biersdorff, Nevada Union – 79 Eric Babin, Nevada Union – 79 7) Alex Gibbs, Granite Bay – 80 8) Wally Hix, Roseville – 81 Nick Adams, Granite Bay – 81 Chris Wilson, Woodcreek – 81 Final team results – league tourney No. 2 1) Granite Bay – 405 2) Nevada Union – 408 3) Rocklin – 418 4) Roseville – 436 4) Del Oro – 436 6) Woodcreek – 444 7) Oakmont - 460 Qualifiers for SJS Division II tourney, Monday May 4 at Cameron Park Country Club: Top three teams: Granite Bay -- Max Kincheloe, Alex Gibbs, Nick Adams, Bryan Bertilino, Mitch Armstrong, Donny Knoll Rocklin – Nick Schafer, Sky Mills, Curtis Wise, Eli Libby, Mike Kencaccy, Dylan McElhatton Del Oro – Josh Vaughn, JJ Tadlock, Evan Smith, Scott McKinney, Eric Ash, Austin Smotherman Six individuals: Spencer Biersdorff, Nevada Union (league champion) Chris Wilson, Woodcreek (runner-up) Kevin Ponath, Roseville Mike Croisetierre, Oakmont Wally Hix, Roseville Nick Anderson, Roseville