Racing roars back to life in Roseville

Over 3000 see Erickson win $5,000 late model race
By: Bill Sullivan, Associate Publisher
-A +A
ROSEVILLE — The community responded in a grand fashion to Saturday night’s re-opening of the All American Speedway in Roseville. 
 After nearly being shuttered for good, the new management by Bill McAnally Racing Promotions brought new life to the facility that drew 3,000-plus cheering spectators for an action-packed night of racing. The evening was the first of six this season and bolstered a night of rip-roaring entertainment that will bring fans of all ages back for more. 
 Matt Erickson took home a $5,000 win in the Cooks Collision 100  Late Model feature race. The evening was capped off by a wild first-ever trailer race that had the packed crowd on their feet as X Games star Brian Deegan took the win, while pocketing $1,000. Deegan won the trailer race by virtue of being the last driver with a trailer still attached.
John Moore dominated most of the Late Model event, before Erickson of LaGrange slipped by to steal the win. Moore’s son, Cole, also got by to take second over his father in third. Sixteen-year-old Kayla Eshleman captured the attention of the crowd as she battled her way to a fourth-place finish, with Logan Zampa taking fifth.
The Jr. Late Models were on display in a 10-lap exhibition race in an event dominated by Eshelman, who was doing double duty.  The Limited Modified feature provided some of the closest and most physical racing of the night, with Corey Englehardt taking the win.
The combined Super Stock feature promised drama and it delivered, with the Super Stock A’s being forced to start in the back move through the B’s. Last year’s champ Andrew Peeler took the lead on a late restart to capture the win.
The F4 main event proved to be one of the closest of the evening, with multiple cars being in contention for the win throughout the night. Rick Anable led from the start and managed to hold on for the win.
The first main event of the evening showcased the first-ever Bandolero vs. Mini Cup race. This race proved to be a two-car battle that was won by Billy Ray in his Bandolero, while Jayce McCarthey chased close behind in his Mini Cup.  
“Thank you all for the effort and being part of the long term deal BMRP has to promote AAS,” said Bill McAnally.  “It has and will continue to take many working together to make AAS a good neighbor and asset to the community. We couldn’t be more delighted to be part of the major improvements to the old Placer County Fairgrounds now known as At The Grounds. I appreciate everyone for being a part of this incredible first of many events to come. 
The next event on this season’s schedule at All American Speedway will be on July 7. In addition to local divisions, the North State Modifieds will also be in action. Grandstands will open at 4 p.m. With the impressive turnout Saturday, a large crowd is expected as the season continues.
For rules, entry forms, or general information; go to For additional questions about the speedway, call 916-786-2025.
Complete Race Results
All American Speedway, June 16, 2018
Late Models
Fast Time: Jason Romero 84.256 mph
Main Event: 1. Matt Erickson, LaGrange; 2. Cole Moore, Granite Bay; 3. John Moore, Granite Bay; 4. Kayla Eshleman, Fontana; 5. Logan Zampa, Napa; 6. Kyle Gottula, Modesto; 7. Travis Milburn, Eagle, Idaho; 8. Cameron LaGue, Roseville; 9. Jim Vermilllion, Salsbury, North Carolina; 10. Shane Butler, Elk Grove; 11. Brandon Jones, Lodi; 12. Bob Nessel, Rocklin; 13. Dave Campbell, Sacramento; 14. Jason Romero, Cameron Park.
Jr. Late Models
Fast Time: Cameron LaGue 77.352 mph
Main Event: 1. Kayla Eshleman, Fontana; 2. Brodie Reidman, Antelope; 3. LaGue.
Limited Modifieds
Fast Time: Cory Englehardt 85.136 mph
Main Event: 1. Cory Englehardt, Granite Bay; 2. Nick Lyons, Loomis; 3. Josh Blackwood, Loomis; 4. Frankie Marks, Roseville; 5. Tyler Wentworth, Roseville; 6. Niles Strever, Roseville; 7. Dale Didoha, Fair Oaks; 8. Don Shalla, Sacramento; 9. John Yound, Forest Hill; 10. Ralph Bailey, Rio Linda.
Super Stocks A & B
Fast Time: Josh Whitfield 81.835 mph
Main Event: 1. Andrew Peeler, Sacramento; 2. Chris Lambert, Loomis; 3. Byron Gonzales, Sacramento; 4. John Kraintz, Winters; 5. Gary Eisenhower, Rancho Cordova; 6. Tony Latimer, North Highland; 7. Wayne Hickok, Orangevale; 8. James Shelton, Auburn; 9. Ericka Ray, Orangevale; 10. Cody Rickard, Roseville; 11. Bill Clark, Citrus Heights; 12. Josh Whitfield, Rocklin; 13. Nathan Hickok, Rocklin; 14. Nick Matthews, North Highlands.
Fast Time: Matt Fuhs 72.725 mph
Main Event: 1. Rick Anable, Roseville; 2. Ray Molina, Roseville; 3. Matt Fuhs, Roseville; 4. Tom Vucovich, Auburn; 5. Billy Rodrigues, Galt; 6. Stanley Johnson, Rocklin; 7. Jill Schmidt, Roseville; Tony Vino, Roseville.
Bandoleros/Mini Cups
Main Event: 1. Billy Ray, Orangevale; 2. Jayce McCarthey, Placerville; 3. Dylan Krug, Orangevale; 4. Sadie Krug, Orangevale; 5. Hannah Ray, Orangevale.