Area players selected to Optimist All-Star volleyball teams

Large and Small School games scheduled for Saturday at El Camino High
By: Staff Report
-A +A

The 35th annual Optimist High School Girls Volleyball All-Star matches set for Dec. 8 have plenty of Foothills and Placer area flavor to both the North small school and North large school rosters that were selected recently by area coaches.


The matches are set for El Camino High School in Sacramento, with the small schools contest starting at 5 p.m. followed immediately by the large schools match.


The North Small Schools team will be coached by Matt MacDonald from Bear River High School. The North Large Schools team will be coached by Tricia Vidlund from Del Oro High School. She will be assisted by J.D. Hayes and Eric Fuchino, also from Del Oro.


In the Small Schools game, the North area will be represented by three players from Colfax, two from Placer and one from Bear River.


From the Falcons are Halle Neumann, Jacy Dean and Sara Detwiler while Amy Hiatt and Emily Wright will represent Placer. Callie Bickmore is the Bear River selection.


Also on the North Small School roster are Aly Gallego of Oakmont and Brenna Mellish of Western Sierra Collegiate Academy.

Gallego, a three-year varsity player who provided experience, leadership and a big defensive presence at the net in helping the Lady Vikings make a return trip to the postseason in 2018.

Mellish compiled 133 kills at a 46 percent clip. She led the league in aces (114) and assists (562) in helping the Lady Wolves to an unbeaten 14-0 Sacramento Metropolitan Athletic League championship.  

The North Large School roster will include Haley Davis, Melissa Robertson and  Danielle Shumaker, all of Del Oro and Raquel Castro, Taylor Melchiori and Morgan Spears, all of Rocklin.


Also on the North Large squad is Sierra Foothill League MVP Kaylie Honberger of Whitney, who was fourth in the entire Sac-Joaquin Section with 568 kills. Honberger is headed to CSU, Monterey next fall.

Woodcreek’s Alyssa Lovell had a team-leading 77 blocks and will be representing the Timberwolves on the North team for the Large Schools game.

Tickets are $10 for adults, seniors (65+) $8, students $5 and $3 for kids under 12. Club volleyball directors, coaches and players who wear their school/club shirt/jersey will be offered a discount at the gate.


Girls North Team

Callie Bickmore, Bear River                                      

Nicole Sutton, Center                                    

Jacy Dean, Colfax                                              

Sara Detwiler, Colfax                                          

Halle Neumann, Colfax                                      

Abby Huskey, Colusa                                       

Sarah Abegglen, El Camino                          

Emily Wade, El Camino                                        

Jenna Campbell, Golden Sierra                      

Hannah Enabnit, Mira Loma                            

Bekah McGill, Nevada Union                                 

Aly Gallego, Oakmont                                             

Amy Hiatt, Placer                                                    

Emily Wright, Placer                                              

Charissa Pham, Sheldon                                       

Brenna Mellish, Western Sierra                 


Matt MacDonald, Bear River     


Girls South Team

Julia Norville, Capital Christian                

Catherine Cordano, Christian Brothers      

Shea Harrington, Christian Brothers       

Hailey Naldoza, Christian Brothers              

Ashley Ford, El Dorado                             

Sierra Wohlford, J.F. Kennedy                 

Sakuraku Yamamoto, Laguna Creek   

Trinity Barr, Pioneer                                         

Angelina Vinnikova, River City                       

Kierstin Parker, Union Mine                

Jillian Petnicki, Vacaville Christian                 

Lauren Petersen, Vista del Lago                    

Hana Kirkland, West Campus                     

Maliah Marshall, West Campus                    

Miah Williamson, West Campus                    

Alissa Pascoe, Woodland Christian              

Megan Trottier, Woodland Christian                    


Paris Kidd, West Campus                         



Girls North Team

Haley Davis, Del Oro                    

Melissa Robertson, Del Oro           

Danielle Shumaker, Del Oro        

Taylor McGee, Inderkum                                   

Sophia Alley, River Valley                              

Sarah Hankins, River Valley                                    

Raquel Castro, Rocklin                               

Taylor Melchiori, Rocklin                         

Morgan Spears, Rocklin                                 

Kaylie Honberger, Whitney                                 

Alyssa Lovell, Woodcreek                               

Mia Apodaca, Yuba City                                      


Tricia Vidlund, Del Oro         


Girls South Team

Amaria Kelley, Cosumnes Oaks   

Dalia Mays, Cosumnes Oaks       

Karmin Brown, Folsom           

Marissa Plaza, Folsom                   

Sydney Radell, Folsom                   

Natalia Andrus, Oak Ridge            

Gracie Rowland, Oak Ridge            

Ireland Grubbs, Pleasant Grove        

Riley Tishlarich, Pleasant Grove         

Shelby Young, Pleasant Grove            

Julin Kenison, Ponderosa                   

Kendall Kott, Ponderosa                      

Brooke Ono, Ponderosa                        

Amanda Yocca, Ponderosa                  

Zoe Zimmerman, Ponderosa                 

Sam Chavez, St. Francis             

Kathryn Kramer, St. Francis              


Mike Yates, Ponderosa