Woodcreek’s Krupp is CVC’s Utility Man

By: Nick Pecoraro
-A +A

The Woodcreek football team needed a change of scenery, moving from the Sierra Foothill League to the Capital Valley Conference. The difference was night and day.

After going 6-14 from 2016–2017 in the SFL, the Timberwolves stormed through their first six games of 2018 and finishing with a school-best 8-3 record.

One of the biggest reasons for Woodcreek’s success this season got his just due after All-League announcements.

Senior quarterback Carter Krupp was named the CVC’s Utility Player of the Year for his versatile play as the team’s game-caller, defensive back, punter and second-leading rusher.

In and out of the pocket, Krupp threw for 1,157 yards with a 54.4 completion percentage and 17 touchdowns. With his legs, he rushed for 614 yards on more than 7 yards per carry with 14 touchdowns, the most in the league for quarterbacks.

He grabbed an interception on defense and averaged nearly 40 yards on 15 punt attempts, leading Woodcreek to its first playoff appearance since 2009.

Woodcreek co-coach Brad Hunkins often referred to Krupp as a “freak of nature” for his ability to be multi-talented on the football field.

Joining Krupp on the All-CVC First Team were seniors Matt Willford, Hudson Habermehl, Max Page, Christian Reining and Tyree Jenkins and junior Grant Dinger.

On the CVC Second Team for the Timberwolves were Tyler Panlilio and Derick Taylor.


All-Capital Valley Conference Football 2018


Brandon Knott, Inderkum, SR

Defensive Player of the Year

Isaiah Ward, Inderkum, SR

Carter Sullivan, Antelope, SR

Offensive Player of the Year

Raymond Brown, Inderkum, SR

Utility Player of the Year

Carter Krupp, Woodcreek, SR

Lineman of the Year

Logan Arnold, Yuba City, SR

Underclassman of the Year

Eric Palmquest, Yuba City, JR

Savaughn Bradley, Antelope, JR

Coach of the Year

Terry Stark, Inderkum


First Team


Logan Benoit

Devon Williams

Cedrick Gillespie

Joel Contreras

Joseph Sapp

Aaron Espero

Javi Daniels

Savion Pressley


Nathan Lucero

Sylvester Toby

Mhari Roberts

Dean Abdullah

Carlos Franco

Christian Habeebi

Zion Henley

Luke Paulson

Yuba City

Major Niccum

Steven Wait

Bryce Rogers

Luke Afato

Sam Gonzales


Grant Dinger

Matt Willford

Christian Reining

Tyree Jenkins

Max Page

Hudson Habermehl

River Valley

Dawson McPeak

Dean Rice

Johnny Murguia

Evan Strickland 

Enrique Correa


Jordan Susbilla

Alex Nicholas

Bella Vista

Andy Trobaugh

Connor Watson


Second Team


JJ Ray

Johnny Williams


Quvonte Thomas

Diego Pinola

Yuba City

Nathan Gill

Emiliano Murillo


Tyler Panlilio

Derick Taylor

River Valley

Bryce Bosanek

Trevor Perucci


Tommy Spencer

Colten Lieburn

Bella Vista

Bryan Henkel

Joey Lewis